Would you like to become a bus driver?
New or prospective school bus drivers are required to complete an initial school bus course, including a segment of first aid procedures and school bus driver safety, in a program approved by the Secretary of State and must be in the employment process with a school district or bus company.
All drivers must register with the Regional Office of Education #11 by calling 217-348-0151 or emailing Katie O’Dell with the following information:
- Legal First Name
- Middle Initial
- Last Name
- Driver’s License Number
- Place of Employment
- Email Address
- Cell Phone Number
- Employment Begin Date
The cost of the initial course is $10.00. All drivers will need to provide a valid driver’s license the day of the training.
ROE #11 also provides the Entry Level Driver Training (ELDT) Theory portion of the MAP 21 requirements. The cost of this training is $75.00.
Permit Renewal (School Bus Refresher Courses)
In accordance with Public Act 88-612, all school bus drivers are required to complete a two-hour annual refresher course to successfully renew their school bus driver permit.
The refresher course fee is $10.00.
To schedule a refresher training for your employees, you must complete a request for school bus driver refresher course and return it to Katie at ROE #11.
Guidelines for Refresher Courses
- At least 20 drivers in attendance.
- Comfortable seating for all drivers
- SmartBoard or Screen/Projector with ample sample sound and speakers
- DVD Player (if not built into the laptop)
School Bus Driver Training DVD’s
The Regional Office of Education #11 has a collection of school bus training DVD’s that are available to school districts in our ROE #11 (Clark, Coles, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar, Moultrie, and Shelby counties in Illinois) to check out.
To loan one of the DVD’s, please contact Katie O’Dell at 217-348-0151 or email@example.com for additional information.
What If My Bus Driver Has An Accident?
The Illinois School Code (ILCS 5/11-406 (b)) identifies a school bus accident as: whenever a school bus is involved in an accident in this State, caused by collision, a sudden stop or otherwise, resulting in any property damage, personal injury or death and whenever an accident occurs within 50 feet of a school bus in this State resulting in personal injury to or the death of any person while awaiting or preparing to board the bus or immediately after exiting the bus, the driver shall as soon as possible but not later than 10 days after the accident, forward a written report to the Department of Transportation.
Your responsibilities for reporting the accident include:
- Completing the Uniform School Bus Accident Form
- Obtaining a copy of the Illinois Traffic Crash Report (SR1050-510M) from Police Department.
- Submitting these completed forms to:
Illinois Department of Transportation
2300 S. Dirksen Parkway
Springfield, IL 62764
- Submitting an additional copy to:
Regional Superintendent of Schools
Attention: Katie O’Dell
730 7th Street
Charleston, IL 61920
- Keeping a file at the school district with a copy
When do we contact the Secretary of State Office?
If there is a human fatality as a result of accident; or if there is bodily injury to one or more of the persons requiring transportation to a medical facility AND the school bus driver involved is issued a traffic citation; or one or more vehicles must be towed from the scene of the accident AND the school bus driver involved is issued a traffic citation.
Fax a copy of the uniform school bus accident report, a copy of the latest medical form and refresher training certificate for the bus driver to the Secretary of State at (217) 524-3654.